Canadian Tire boycotts Sun News over Rob Ford show – I’m returning the favour

canadian tire

If Canadian Tire wants to play politics trying to appease anyone who could possibly have been offended by an ad of theirs running during the episode of Ford Nation on Sun News then so be it but I’ll guarantee more people who vote for Ford shop at their stores than those who don’t.

So to clarify, I am now boycotting Canadian Tire and have sent this to their customer service:

In light of your boycott of Sun News over the program Ford Nation, I am in return now boycotting your Canadian Tire outlets and associated retailers.

And am asking those who read my blog to do the same. You can find the Canadian Tire complaint form here

Update: Canadian Tire is pretty selective who they don’t wish to be associated with. Take a look at their Board of Directors and note that John Furlong (who has been accused of sexually assaulting and abusing native kids) sits as a Corporate Director (see here).

Update: Canadian Tire responds

Dear Dean Skoreyko,

Thank you for contacting our office regarding your concerns.

We were recently made aware that a manufacturer using our logo ran an ad on Ford Nation on November 18th, 2013. We would like to assure you that we did not place the ad or target the show.  Thank you for bringing it to our attention.

We thank you for providing us with the opportunity to respond.

Corporate Customer Relations
Canadian Tire Corporation Limited

To which I replied:

You obviously did not read my complaint and I assume this is some sort of automatically generated response?

6 Responses to “Canadian Tire boycotts Sun News over Rob Ford show – I’m returning the favour”

  1. Dave Says:

    I guess it won’t be long before they hang up the “Vote Justin” posters.

  2. ohboy Says:

    Cdn. Tire might do well to remember the chiquita banana boycott (helped along by Sun News’ Ezra Levant) a few short years back.

    Problem with the CTC brain trust is that they are grossly misinformed or miss the perceived optics of them being part of the problem with TO politics. (I’m sure I am correct in believing CTC still houses its corporate headquarters in Toronto ?)

    However one dices it, and I have had personal experience in dealing with corporate CTC beyond a consumer level…they are generally a nasty, presumptuous and entitled lot pushing their corporate Toronto entitlement mentality across the country while pretending to be good neighbours.
    As for John Furlong, they should have removed him until such time as his mess was properly dealt with.
    Rob Ford though crass is no where near as deep in the mire as Mr Furlong, also noting that Mr Ford has no charges against him.

    I will also stop buying at CTC.

  3. Ontario Girl Says:

    Nice to hear…I was actually going to buy a new set of pots and pans there tomorrow. I can save myself the trip. I will also pass the word along to my Conservative friends.

  4. Sean M Says:

    Well, I was just on my way out to buy some more Christmas lights, guess I can buy them somewhere other than Cdn Tire, they don’t need my money apparently.

  5. Steve Says:

    I sent an e-mail as well. In my area, there is Home Depot fairly close to the CT. I will shop at Home Depot from now on.

  6. gr8rminds Says:

    Dean,

    I got the same reply from them:

    Dear Greg B,

    Thank you for contacting our office regarding your concerns.

    We were recently made aware that a manufacturer using our logo ran an ad on Ford Nation on November 18th, 2013. We would like to assure you that we did not place the ad or target the show. Thank you for bringing it to our attention.

    We thank you for providing us with the opportunity to respond.

    Corporate Customer Relations
    Canadian Tire Corporation Limited
    1-800-387-8803

    This message, including any attachments, is privileged and may contain
    confidential information intended only for the person(s) named above. If
    you are not the intended recipient or have received this message in error,
    please notify the sender immediately by reply email and permanently delete
    the original transmission from the sender, including any attachments,
    without making a copy. Thank you.

    –Original Message–
    From: Greg b
    Date: 11/20/2013 1:11:43 PM
    To: customerservice@canadiantire.egain.net
    Subject: Suggestions_Feedback

    Subject: Suggestions_Feedback
    First name: Greg
    Last name: B
    Email address: GregB
    Comments: Since you boycotted sun news, i will be boycotting your stores and telling my family and friends to do the same.


Comments are closed.

